Skip to content

OMG NOOOOO

April 4, 2010

The worst has happened!!! The worst news ever has come!!!! It’s scarier than all seven Saw movies and the new Friday the 13th out together!!!!

Shu Uemura eyelash curlers will be taken off US shelves!!!

OMFG NO!!!

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single woman in possession of unremarkable eyelashes must be in want of the Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler.

Bar none, it is the best. The BEST. The secret is in the pinchers’ curve. It seems to perfectly slide into the curve of your eye, leading to (1) needing only a single pinch to curl the entire span of your eyelashes (thus, the press and resulting curl is uniform across the lashes), rather than the usual multiple pinches at different spots across the line and (2) a minimal chance that the eyelid gets caught in the pinch.

The spring lasts forever. The only tragedy is that you can’t actually buy refills for the pads when they get worn down, but it won’t be for at least a year even with daily use (just make sure you sanitize and wipe them down every so often). You’ll be in love with it so much that you won’t mind dropping another $20 for another one. No other eyelash curler or curling mascara will ever compare. You can never have anything else.

I’m very thankful my folks lie overseas. My mom always brings me over a stash of Asian beauty products when she comes to visit, and no doubt I’ll be asking her to pop an eyelash curler in there now and then. So my stubby, short, and straight eyelashes will be fine. But what of the rest of you, my friends? What to do??

It puzzles me as to why L’Oreal has decided to pull out Shu Uemura products across the board. Their eyelash curlers are beauty editor faves, and their cleansing oils are cult products. I hope they’ll still be able for purchase online. Otherwise, you had better make a couple more Asian friends.

love,
m

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 1:12 am

    I don’t know why either! Should I purchase ASAP? I only started using an eyelash curler a couple months ago, and I just bought Sephora’s offering. I do notice that my eyelashes get that crimped look if I’m not careful.

Leave a Reply

